Indianapolis Announces 2010 Sustainability Award Winners

Green Building

Indianapolis Announces 2010 Sustainability Award Winners

I just arrived back from the 2010 Sustainability Awards Luncheon. Today, Mayor Gregory A. Ballard and the City of Indianapolis Office of Sustainability announced the winners for the second annual Indianapolis Sustainability Awards.

Five categories for the awards include air, land, water, energy and “reduce, reuse, recycle.”

The project finalists and winners are as follows:


Category: Air

Winner: IndyGo Green Initiative: IndyGo

Finalist: MyCarbonPledge: Indianapolis Zoo

Finalist: Roche Global Data Center: Roche Diagnostics Operations


Category: Land

Winner: 100 Acres: Virginia B. Fairbanks Arts & Nature Park: The Hagerman Group & Indianapolis Museum of Art

Finalist: Lawrence Village at the Fort: Fort Harrison Reuse Authority

Finalist: Lilly Day of Service – A Greener Welcome: Eli Lilly and Company


Category: Water

Winner: Southwest Health and Dental Center: HealthNet, Inc.

Finalist: LCC Green Roof on Building 76: Eli Lilly and Company and Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf

Finalist: Teaching Rain Garden Project: Irvington Green Initiative


Category: Energy

Winner: Efroymson Conservation Center: The Nature Conservancy

Finalist: Five Elementary Schools Renovated to Meet LEED Criteria: Indianapolis Public Schools

Finalist: eSmart: Beazer Homes


Category: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Winner: “The Perfect Pitch” Recycling Program: Indianapolis Indians

Finalist: GRA Certification: Vontra Foods, LLC/The Pita Pit

Finalist: Polystyrene Recycling: Crossroads Industrial Services


For more information, please visit the City of Indianapolis Office of Sustainability at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *